Disney Mural – Work in Progress

I’ve loved Disney movies for as long as I can remember, I’ve even been to the theme park once. Even at 25 I still find comfort in watching Disney movies with my children, especially the originals. I feel like you’re never too old for Disney.

We’re redoing our basement in the upcoming weeks and I decided on a Disney theme of course. The majority of the basement space is used as a play room and entertainment space mostly for the children. We do not have a formal living room in our house, so I want to create a space that is fun and welcoming for us as well as the kids and guests.

Once I decided that I was going to be doing Disney I quickly sketched an idea for a mural on a loose leaf sheet of paper and then put that idea on the actual wall. At first I wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out. I was a little nervous to make it more “permanent” than a pencil. Considering I haven’t painted in years!! I was nervous about spending money on paint (which only cost $16 at Wal-Mart in the craft section for all the colors I needed, I figured I’d create my own color shades if I had to)

I started feeling more confident as I went along and after a lot of erasing I finally got them to look how I wanted them to, on a bigger scale than my sheet of paper. It’s been a slow and tedious process but that’s because I’m caught between juggling all my other tasks that come with being a busy on the go mom, wife and also caregiver.

I’m sure my husband is tired of hearing “My feet are sore, my back hurts and my arms feel bruised and my neck cramped from being in such an awkward position while painting. It’s going to be so worth it though.” He thinks it’s great though and now that he’s seeing it unfold, he’s realizing that maybe me drawing on the wall wasn’t such a bad idea.

I also realize once I started painting that I should have been more strategic with placement of certain characters. I accidentally put NEMO the clown fish over top of Tigger! Now I have two orange and black clashing. I also have EVA from Wall-E, Pongo from 101 Dalmations and the Storm Trooper from Star Wars side by side and that’s a lot of black and white. I’m hoping with some painted black lines to show dimension that it will all come together nicely. I sometimes can’t help but to critique myself.

I thought I’d share the progression photos until it’s complete. Here’s up until yesterday’s work. I’ve done more today but haven’t taken any more photos yet.

The pencil and marker lines.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A little bit of color

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I still have a lot of painting and detail work to do but when it’s complete it is a 3’ft x 10’ft mural that is on an accent wall in the den and underneath it will be a custom hand-built cubicle shelving system (4’ft x 10’ft) to hold canvas boxes for the children’s things, as well as books and other decorative accessories.

Once this is finished we’ll be painting all the other walls solid colors, hanging carefully selected framed Disney posters. Building other storage space and also creating a LEGO corner. The bathroom is also getting gutted and re-done. I will continue to share our little renovation with you all and any tips or struggles along the way.

Thanks for viewing!!

Disney Mural – Work in Progress

Leave a Reply

