Children and Ear Piercing

I’ve never been one of those parents who is against ear piercing or who thinks it’s cruel to pierce an infants ear because they can’t tell you it hurts, hell I had all 3 of my boys circumcised, I think that takes the cake on causing infants pain. However I only have 2 girls both of which did not have pierced ears. For my eldest though not for lack of trying.

She’s 9 going on 10 years old and she is now requesting for her ears to be pierced, again, as if the first 3 attempts weren’t bad enough. She in terms of tolerance to fear and pain is very much a scaredy cat. I first had her ears pierced when she was 6 months old in 2006. She lost one of the studs and the hole closed, so I went ahead and took the other piercing out and let them both heal.

I had her ears pierced again when she was 2 years old in 2008. That time she refused to allow me to clean them or twist them, LITERALLY she would kick me and scream at the top of her lungs and I just couldn’t hold her down and manage with just my own 2 hands (which she still does currently even at the Doctor’s office for checking throat, finger pricks, getting shots, etc. – at least the nurses help there), one ended up getting a small infection and she took them out and they closed up and healed.

The third time she was 5 years old in 2011 and the same thing occurred as before. I only had them done that time because she begged and she promised that she would let me do what needed to be done. Wrong again.

She’s been asking me for months now to have her ears pierced and I can’t help but to think it’s just not going to work out, but I’m willing to try again.

My younger daughter, who is almost 4, has been asking for earrings for months also, ever since her sister started talking about getting her ears pierced. I never had her ears pierced because I was worried I’d go through the same situation as I did with her older sister. Well this morning my husband asked her what she wanted to do today and she said “I want my earrings today.” So we finally took her to the mall to get her ears pierced while her brothers watched. She did great!!

She had to have them done one at a time because the woman was the only one there who was certified. She handled it like a champ though, she cried a little the first time and by the second ear she was just fine and asked for her lollipop. She adores her pink metallic 3mm earrings but told me she wants Elsa and Anna ones. I told her for her birthday in May she can pick her some pretty earrings but for now these were the best options for her first piercings.

My oldest daughter comes back from her dad’s tomorrow evening (it was his weekend and tomorrow is a teacher work day at school) so we’re going to take her to finally get her ears pierced. At first I was going to take the girls together but decided against it in case either “chickened out”. So now that my little girl has hers done and actually LETS me twist and turn and clean her ears, maybe she can motivate my eldest to not be afraid.

Personally I had my ears pierced twice professionally (first 4 holes) and then I pierced the next 2 rows by myself as a teenager and also my cartilage 3 times (though I let 2 heal after because it didn’t turn out how I wanted) I had my nose pierced for an hour once HAHA and my lip pierced for about a month. Both of those I let close up. So presently I have 9 piercings.

In my experience as a parent. Waiting was the best choice I made. I know a lot of parents who have pierced their children at all sorts of ages.

At what age did you have your child’s ears pierced?

 

Children and Ear Piercing

One thought on “Children and Ear Piercing

  1. I had my daughters done at 8 months. She doesn’t wear earrings though, because she keeps loosing them so every couple months I put in a earring to make sure the hole is still open and she’s 8 years old now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

