There is Always so Much More to Discover.

I’ve always wanted to travel and experience new places. My dreams were not so far fetched, or so I thought. I considered that since my dreams were within my own country they would be more realistic. That I could just get a map, close my eyes, point and then go, but alas, it’s not simply that easy. At least not for me.

I’ve lived in the same area for 20 years now and I’ve done some visiting of other states, I even lived at a beach in Florida briefly, yet where I am has always been “home” to me.

I’m not saying I want to go run off and live somewhere else, but I know there’s a possibility to just fall in love with somewhere else. I know I don’t know everything or every place out there, I’m sure no one really does. There could be a perfect town or city just waiting for you, but you’d never know because you’ve never been. Some people don’t ever get to leave where they are and I don’t want that to be me.

I’m a mom, my husband and I have a large family. We do a lot of “adulting” so to speak, and sometimes feels like we have so much responsibility to where we are that we don’t make traveling a priority.  I would love to be able to go further than just 5 hours away and actually see different things, not the same old things all the time.

I want to see monuments, I want to see natural sights, I want to visit all the “largests and smallests” along the way, I want to know what all the fuss is about for different areas that are the “must sees”, I want to try as many little diner/dives that I can find. There is so much out there to see and I only have one time around to see it.

We bought an RV because I thought it’d be perfect for our large family and that we’d be able to travel with it, yet for nearly a year it’s sat parked with only taking it once to visit a lake 2 hours away. There are moments when I’m like this was such a waste, but then I get sad thinking of getting rid of it. It feels like LIFE just gets in the way sometimes; work, school, pets, money, scheduling. Not to mention how difficult it is to go anywhere without excessive planning, especially with a family our size. It will happen though, eventually. We will travel more!

I was on Facebook this morning and came across this site MapLoco that allows you to create a map of the states you’ve been. That’s when I knew for sure, we will go to each one even if it takes years to do it.

Here’s my map of states I’ve visited:

AR-DC-FL-GA-MD-NC-NY-OK-PA-SC-TN-VA-WV

You can create your own map here: http://m.maploco.com/visited-states/

I collect magnets and pennies everywhere I go. Not just the states, but places within the states. Regrettably, I didn’t always have the opportunity to get a magnet or penny from some places I went. One day though, I would love to have a huge collection of these. I love to create the memories.

18157229_1869662549970343_3093083935513445025_n18194970_1869662529970345_8838886926795519076_n

 

There is Always so Much More to Discover.

Leave a Reply

